ashtanga : level 1


This class is taught by:

Catarina Portugal

Catarina's classes are taught in a methodical yet fun way, so expect a clear and focused practice in an uplifting and warm atmosphere.
 
Catarina came into yoga as a way of balancing a busy career as an architect, but over the years yoga became her natural space. Her practice took her on many journeys in the UK and abroad, including to India where she completed the Sivananda Teacher Training Course . More recently Catarina trained under the Triyoga Teacher Training programme and since then continues to be involved in numerous workshops and courses. She is an assistant for the Triyoga Teacher Training and the Mysore Style classes in Triyoga Camden. Eileen Gauthier, Joey Miles and Anna Ashby have been her inspirational teachers on this journey.

Catarina welcomes students of all levels in her classes, from beginners to more experienced practitioners, providing plenty of options so everyone can take part.

Toby Field

 
Toby teaches Ashtanga yoga in an open and welcoming way, encouraging people of all ages and abilities to experience its benefits in a safe environment. His classes promote self-focus and independence to help students discover a practice that will best serve them as individuals.
 
Since his first encounter with yoga, Toby has been continually fascinated with the Ashtanga Vinyasa method. Its ability to keep us strong and centred is what draws him to the mat each day.  He has practised and learned directly from his teacher Cary Perkins and continues to visit the home of Sharath Jois in Mysore, South India.

Ashtanga yoga is a dynamic high heat flowing practice to tone, strengthen and detoxify. Repeating and building on elements of the Primary Series.

In this class you will repeat the same sequence of poses each week, ultimately committing it to memory and moving on to self practice.


Upcoming classes:

  • Sun 24 Sep 1:15 pm - 2:15 pm with Catarina Portugal
  • Tue 26 Sep 12:30 pm - 1:30 pm with Toby Field
  • Sun 01 Oct 1:15 pm - 2:15 pm with Catarina Portugal
  • Tue 03 Oct 12:30 pm - 1:30 pm with Toby Field
  • Sun 08 Oct 1:15 pm - 2:15 pm with Catarina Portugal
  • Tue 10 Oct 12:30 pm - 1:30 pm with Toby Field
  • Sun 15 Oct 1:15 pm - 2:15 pm with Catarina Portugal
  • Tue 17 Oct 12:30 pm - 1:30 pm with Toby Field
  • Sun 22 Oct 1:15 pm - 2:15 pm with Catarina Portugal
  • Tue 24 Oct 12:30 pm - 1:30 pm with Toby Field
  • Sun 29 Oct 1:15 pm - 2:15 pm with Catarina Portugal
  • Tue 31 Oct 12:30 pm - 1:30 pm with Toby Field
  • Sun 05 Nov 1:15 pm - 2:15 pm with Catarina Portugal
  • Tue 07 Nov 12:30 pm - 1:30 pm with Toby Field
  • Sun 12 Nov 1:15 pm - 2:15 pm with Catarina Portugal
  • Tue 14 Nov 12:30 pm - 1:30 pm with Toby Field
  • Sun 19 Nov 1:15 pm - 2:15 pm with Catarina Portugal
  • Tue 21 Nov 12:30 pm - 1:30 pm with Toby Field
  • Sun 26 Nov 1:15 pm - 2:15 pm with Catarina Portugal
  • Tue 28 Nov 12:30 pm - 1:30 pm with Toby Field