iyengar yoga : level 1


This class is taught by:

Alice Knowelden

Alice teaches Iyengar yoga in a direct, kind and considered manner. She is well attuned to the needs of her students and enjoys helping them to overcome any barriers or fears they may have, through the use of props and positive thinking. 

She has been practising yoga for 20 years and teaching since 2015, having discovered Iyengar yoga in 2009 after meeting Karen Long, who persuaded her to come to a class at Yogahome. It was a revelation to her that she had found a form of yoga she could practice with an injured wrist and she never looked back.

Alice currently studies with Uday Bhosale of the Ramamani Iyengar Memorial Yoga Institute in Pune, India, formerly a direct student of BKS Iyengar.
 

Helen Corcoran

Helen has a systematic and encouraging style and teaches Iyengar yoga in a caring, progressive manner. 


Helen has practiced Iyengar Yoga for many years and qualified to teach in 2004. She continues to train with her Senior Teacher and has attended classes at the Institute in Pune, India.



Iyengar yoga focuses on precision and alignment of the body in the postures, using yoga equipment such as blocks and belts to help lengthen and open the body.
 
The quiet pace of the class allows you to explore each posture in depth, to develop excellent body awareness and release deeply held tension.
 
This class is specifically for beginners, so if you are new to yoga, this is a great place to start.

Upcoming classes:

  • Sun 19 Aug 5:00 pm - 6:30 pm with Alice Knowelden
  • Mon 20 Aug 6:30 pm - 7:45 pm with Helen Corcoran
  • Sun 26 Aug 5:00 pm - 6:30 pm with Alice Knowelden
  • Mon 27 Aug 6:30 pm - 7:45 pm with Helen Corcoran
  • Sun 02 Sep 5:00 pm - 6:30 pm with Alice Knowelden
  • Mon 03 Sep 6:30 pm - 7:45 pm with Helen Corcoran
  • Sun 09 Sep 5:00 pm - 6:30 pm with Alice Knowelden
  • Mon 10 Sep 6:30 pm - 7:45 pm with Helen Corcoran
  • Sun 16 Sep 5:00 pm - 6:30 pm with Alice Knowelden
  • Mon 17 Sep 6:30 pm - 7:45 pm with Helen Corcoran
  • Sun 23 Sep 5:00 pm - 6:30 pm with Alice Knowelden
  • Mon 24 Sep 6:30 pm - 7:45 pm with Helen Corcoran
  • Sun 30 Sep 5:00 pm - 6:30 pm with Alice Knowelden
  • Mon 01 Oct 6:30 pm - 7:45 pm with Helen Corcoran
  • Sun 07 Oct 5:00 pm - 6:30 pm with Alice Knowelden
  • Mon 08 Oct 6:30 pm - 7:45 pm with Helen Corcoran
  • Sun 14 Oct 5:00 pm - 6:30 pm with Alice Knowelden
  • Mon 15 Oct 6:30 pm - 7:45 pm with Helen Corcoran
  • Sun 21 Oct 5:00 pm - 6:30 pm with Alice Knowelden
  • Mon 22 Oct 6:30 pm - 7:45 pm with Helen Corcoran