pilates : level 2


This class is taught by:

Akane Abe-Trimmer

Akane is a Pilates and contemporary dance teacher. Her Pilates classes incorporate movement for spinal release and are always refreshing and fun!

Akane completed a BA in Sport Science at Chukyo University in Japan and taught aerobic and jazz dance before moving to Europe and training in mime theatre and contemporary dance. In 2003 she completed the Pilates Foundation UK's Matwork Teaching qualification, and in 2012 she was awarded an MA in contemporary dance from the London Contemporary Dance School. She has been teaching Pilates and contemporary dance both in England and Japan for thirteen years.


 

Roula Andari

Roula was introduced to Pilates years ago after suffering a knee and hip injury. Feeling the benefits not just to the injuries but also to her posture, strength and mobility she was so hooked that she decided to train as a Pilates teacher to share those benefits with others.

Roula is passionate about the Pilates method and how its effectiveness lasts beyond class, in every day life and activities. She teaches functional and accessible Pilates, encouraging mind-body connection and awareness to promote a better alignment for ease of movement in and out of class.

She qualified in level 3 Matwork with Body Control Pilates and is a member of the Body Control Pilates Association (BCPA).

Brooke McConochy

Brooke is a fitness teacher with a foundation in Pilates and a love of dance. Expect a strong workout in her Pilates classes, with an hour packed full of exercises.

Having straightened the hunched shoulders of journalists from the NY Times, the LA Times, the Financial Times, The Times of London, The Wall Street Journal, AP, and AFP, Brooke is proud to say many of the journalists of the world stand a little taller thanks to her! She also taught Pilates extensively across Beijing for 5 years, strengthening the core of China’s diplomatic corps and students from various embassies.

Brooke has completed the Network Pilates Fundamental and Intermediate Mat work courses, Remedial work course, and Personal Training course. She has also trained in the Xtend Barre Basic Repertoire.
 
Pilates is a technique for strengthening and toning the core postural muscles, especially in the abdominal area. Using small focused movements, core awareness is increased improving strength, flexibility and posture.

Level 2 - This is for anyone who has some experience of pilates and would like a more challenging class.


Upcoming classes:

  • Sat 22 Dec 9:00 am - 10:00 am with Akane Abe-Trimmer
  • Mon 31 Dec 8:30 am - 9:30 am with Roula Andari
  • Sat 05 Jan 9:00 am - 10:00 am with Akane Abe-Trimmer
  • Mon 07 Jan 8:30 am - 9:30 am with Brooke McConochy
  • Sat 12 Jan 9:00 am - 10:00 am with Akane Abe-Trimmer
  • Mon 14 Jan 8:30 am - 9:30 am with Brooke McConochy
  • Sat 19 Jan 9:00 am - 10:00 am with Akane Abe-Trimmer
  • Mon 21 Jan 8:30 am - 9:30 am with Brooke McConochy
  • Sat 26 Jan 9:00 am - 10:00 am with Akane Abe-Trimmer
  • Mon 28 Jan 8:30 am - 9:30 am with Brooke McConochy
  • Sat 02 Feb 9:00 am - 10:00 am with Akane Abe-Trimmer
  • Mon 04 Feb 8:30 am - 9:30 am with Brooke McConochy
  • Sat 09 Feb 9:00 am - 10:00 am with Akane Abe-Trimmer
  • Mon 11 Feb 8:30 am - 9:30 am with Brooke McConochy
  • Sat 16 Feb 9:00 am - 10:00 am with Akane Abe-Trimmer
  • Mon 18 Feb 8:30 am - 9:30 am with Brooke McConochy
  • Sat 23 Feb 9:00 am - 10:00 am with Akane Abe-Trimmer
  • Mon 25 Feb 8:30 am - 9:30 am with Brooke McConochy
  • Sat 02 Mar 9:00 am - 10:00 am with Akane Abe-Trimmer